RHYTHMS

DSC_0202

These pictures were taken during the Easter weekend, on stroll over to Mousehold Heath on Saturday, and a meander through Strumpshaw Fen on Sunday. The sun was feeble but it was warm enough to be out without a coat, and the flowering garlic mustard was attracting in delicate little hoverflies. I saw my first orange tip and speckled wood of the year and spent some time admiring the fluffiness of the colt’s foot seedheads by the path. This year, the arrival of Spring has felt a little different than usual, as its markers remind me of the impending arrival of a huge deadline (my thesis-hand in). What I felt was ages away as the crocuses pushed through became more pressing as the daffodils and snake’s-head fritillaries came and went- and now, with the bluebells out, it really is time to be writing in earnest.

With that in mind, this blog may have to take a little bit of a backseat these next few weeks. I want to be finished with enough time to plan and pack for what’s turning into a bit of a mammoth trip to Ecuador and Colombia this summer, which I am hoping will be full of flora and fauna and the odd celebratory cocktail or two. Please bear with me; I’ll try to post when I can, and promise I’ll be back soon. Wish me luck!

fullsizeoutput_1e73.jpegfullsizeoutput_1e6f.jpegfullsizeoutput_1e6e.jpegfullsizeoutput_1e76fullsizeoutput_1e6a

Leave a Reply

